Table of contents
WordPress slow?
We'll sort it out for you!

WordPress 6.4 update: All changes at a glance

WordPress 6.4 update cover image
Table of contents

The major WordPress 6.4 update will be released on 07.11.2023! There are many exciting new features in the WordPress major release that will make WordPress even better. In the following article, we would like to give you a clear overview of the most important new changes.

Another general and exciting piece of information about WordPress updates: The WordPress community has been working diligently on the big update since April of this year. This is because the new features are put through their paces for you before they are released.

Note on the update: We recommend that you do not install the update on your live instance immediately upon release! Especially with major releases, there are often problems with themes, plugins or WordPress itself at the beginning. Inform yourself regularly about current problems with the new update and always test the update on a staging environment first!

New standard theme: Twenty Twenty-Four

Twenty Twenty Four Theme
Insight into the variants of the new Twenty Twenty-Four theme from WordPress

The new WordPress Standard Theme "Twenty Twenty-Four" will replace the previous "Twenty Twenty-Three" theme. What makes it special? The new theme is a real all-rounder that is suitable for different website types and sizes.

Unlike in previous years, development did not focus on one specific use case. The new standard theme should be suitable for several, or to be more precise, the following three areas of application:

  • Entrepreneurs and small businesses
  • Photographers and artists
  • Writer and blogger

The theme promises to combine fresh and modern design concepts with remarkable customizability. The Twenty Twenty Four theme presents a fresh look and feel inspired by current design trends and introduces some exciting new features, which we will describe for you in more detail:

Elegant design and font

The aesthetics of Twenty Twenty-Four clearly stand out from the previous WordPress themes. Among other things, the elegant "Cardo" font, which is used for headings, is immediately noticeable. A sans serif system font is used for the body text, which makes it easier to read. This deliberate choice of fonts gives your website a professional and appealing touch.

Light and dark color palettes

The default Twenty Twenty-Four theme presents a bright and modern color palette that makes your website appear friendly and inviting. Additionally, there is a dark style variant that retains the same elegant typography. To offer even more flexibility, two additional sans serif variants are available: one in light mode and one in dark mode.

Block theme with advanced design tools

Twenty Twenty-Four is a block theme that can be fully combined with the tools of the website editor. It not only supports the standard block elements, but also comes with new design tools such as the detail block and vertical text. This allows you to design content even more flexibly and creatively in the future.

Prefabricated page patterns and template variations

Are you currently creating every new subpage from scratch? The Twenty Twenty Four theme wants to put an end to this by offering entire page patterns and template variations. With predefined layouts and style options, the website creation process is considerably simplified. This saves time and effort when creating a website.

Flexibility and adaptability

One of the most remarkable features of Twenty Twenty-Four is its flexibility. With just a few adjustments to colors and typography, users can create a wide range of website designs to suit their needs.

Overall, the Twenty Twenty-Four theme offers an exciting blend of modern design, customizability and ease of use. With the numerous customization options and ready-made layouts, it's easier than ever to create professional websites.

New functions of WordPress 6.4

WordPress 6.4 is in the starting blocks and brings with it some exciting new features, improvements and revisions. Some features have been long awaited - now the launch is finally here! We'll show you which new and improved functions await you in WordPress 6.4.

Font library

One of the big new features in WordPress 6.4 is the introduction of a font library. This handy feature allows you to install fonts for your entire website and preview different fonts. The font library will be available globally, regardless of the active theme. The application is similar to the existing WordPress media library - so it's clear and intuitive.

Lightbox function

In future, the lightbox will also be available for image blocks so that your images can be displayed in a large view with a single click.

Post formats in block themes

WordPress 6.4 brings further improvements to facilitate the use of post formats in block themes. This includes the ability to use posts without titles in loops and templates, the creation of templates for post series and the revision of the specific formatting of the content block in the loop. These improvements allow users to design their posts even more flexibly.

New blocks

The launch of three new blocks is planned!

  1. Table of contents: This block facilitates the creation of structured content and offers users a clear way to create tables of contents.
  2. Time to read: This block allows authors to display the estimated reading time of an article, which gives readers a better idea of how much time they will need to read it.
  3. Block Scrolling Marquee: This block allows you to add horizontal, moving text to attract attention and highlight important information.

Overall, WordPress 6.4 promises to further improve the user experience and open up new creative possibilities for website owners and developers. With the new features and improvements, you can make your website even more appealing and user-friendly.

Improvement of existing functions

WordPress as a whole is constantly being improved - and so are existing functions! The new WordPress 6.4 update optimizes existing functions to make working in WordPress even easier and more intuitive.

Interfaces and tools

Existing tools are continuously being improved to make it easier to create websites and write articles. In this context, the focus is on iterations of the list view with user-defined naming of group blocks, the media preview for gallery and image blocks and keyboard shortcuts for duplicating blocks.

Page editing

Editing the navigation block and global styles will be improved. Measures to improve general website usage include adding the "Show template" function when editing pages, inserting discussion settings, displaying current changes in the "Browse styles" area, decoupling templates and template parts when changing the theme and hiding page or post titles when editing the website.

Footnotes

The Footnote Block, which was only introduced in the last major release, will be further improved in 6.4. Among other things, the entire design (background, font type and size, text colors, etc.) will be easier to customize and links will be easier to insert.

Design tools

Thanks to these improvements and additional functions, you should be able to realize even more complex designs in the future:

  • Box Shadow (new)
  • Configuration of own viewport widths for theme developers (new)
  • Simplification and expansion of layout controls
  • Improvement of the user-defined CSS

Global styles

Global styles are a powerful setting that can save you a lot of work for future customizations or even a complete redesign. WordPress 6.4 brings changes to style revisions, stylebook customizations with features like "reset to default" and page comparison as well as changes to the display hierarchy.

Sample

New functions have been added to make patterns even more user-friendly:

  • Adding categories
  • Improvement of the "insert" process
  • Improved compatibility for non-block themes.

Administration and navigation

Every update brings with it better usability - which is why the administration and navigation are constantly being improved. This time we are pleased about the following improvements:

  • Adding a menu overview
  • Creation of user-defined symbols
  • mobile links for different devices
  • Improvement of the fallback

Performance

As WordPress Host website performance is extremely important to us! And the WordPress development team is also focused on continuously improving the performance of WordPress:

  • Use of the new script loading strategy APIs in Core, which
  • Identification and elimination of server performance bottlenecks that
  • Improved reliability and flexibility in the application of the loading optimization attributes "loading", "fetchpriority" and "decoding" as well as the
  • Expansion of the options for automated performance test workflows and the dashboard.

These insights provide just a small overview of the extensive improvements and revisions in WordPress 6.4. For more details, you can check out the WordPress website for the latest updates.

Gutenberg Block Editor - The Collaboration Phase in WordPress (Phase 3)

It's time for the next big step in the Gutenberg Block Editor: With the next WordPress update, the collaboration phase (phase 3) will begin, which will further improve collaboration and user-friendliness.

Gutenberg has evolved a lot since its introduction in WordPress 5.0. The handling of creation and administration has been improved, new blocks have been introduced and the overall flexibility has been improved. Having grown out of its baby shoes, it is now possible to create complex designs in a user-friendly environment. The introductory phase is therefore officially recognized as complete.

With the completion of the introductory phase, phase 3 begins. Phase 3 is all about collaboration in WordPress. The main goal is to further increase usability and promote seamless collaboration between different users. This is mainly made possible by the ability for multiple users to work on the same content at the same time, as well as native commenting, reviewing and sharing features in WordPress.

Conclusion

We are very much looking forward to the upcoming update and the associated innovations. I am particularly impressed by the option to work together natively in WordPress! This will make teamwork easier, better and faster for WordPress users in the long term.

If you want to find out about the changes in WordPress 6.4 and future updates yourself, you can do so directly at here.

Picture of Isabell Bergmann
Isabell Bergmann
As an online marketing manager at WPspace, I love to share my knowledge around online marketing, web design and hosting.

Links marked with an * are affiliate links. If you buy a product via this link, WPspace receives a small commission. There are no additional costs or disadvantages for you! This has no influence on our opinion of individual products and services - we only recommend what we love ourselves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Inhaltsverzeichnis
WordPress langsam?
Wir regeln das für dich!

WordPress 6.4 Update: Alle Änderungen im Überblick

WordPress 6.4 Update Titelbild
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Am 07.11.2023 wird das große WordPress 6.4 Update veröffentlicht! Es gibt viele spannende Neuerungen im WordPress Major Release, die WordPress noch besser machen. Wir möchten euch im nachfolgenden Beitrag eine verständliche Übersicht über den wichtigsten neuen Änderungen geben.

Noch ein allgemeine und spannende Info zu WordPress Updates: Bereits seit April diesen Jahres arbeitet die WordPress Community fleißig am großen Update. Denn vor der Veröffentlichung werden die neuen Features auf Herz und Nieren für euch getestet.

Hinweis zum Update: Wir empfehlen dir nicht direkt zum Release das Update auf deiner Live-Instanz zu installieren! Häufig kommt es vor allem bei Major Release zu Beginn noch zu Problemen mit Themes, Plugins oder in WordPress selbst. Informiere dich regelmäßig über aktuelle Probleme mit dem neuen Update und teste das Update auf jeden Fall zu erst auf einer Staging Umgebung!

Neues Standard Theme: Twenty Twenty-Four

Twenty Twenty Four Theme
Einblick in die Varianten des neuen Twenty Twenty-Four Theme von WordPress

Das neue WordPress Standard Theme „Twenty Twenty-Four“ wird das vorherige „Twenty Twenty-Three“ Theme ablösen. Das Besondere? Das neue Theme ist ein echter Allrounder, der für verschiedene Website-Arten und -Größen geeignet ist.

Bei der Entwicklung wurde sich nicht wie in den letzten Jahren auf einen konkreten Anwendungsfall konzentriert. Das neue Standard Theme soll für mehrere, um genauer zu sein die folgenden drei Anwendungsbereiche geeignet sein:

  • Unternehmer und kleine Unternehmen
  • Fotografen und Künstler
  • Schriftsteller und Blogger

Das Theme verspricht, frische und moderne Designkonzepte mit einer bemerkenswerten Anpassbarkeit zu vereinen. Das Twenty Twenty-Four-Theme präsentiert ein frisches Erscheinungsbild, das von aktuellen Designtrends inspiriert ist und führt einige aufregende Neuerungen ein, die wir für euch genauer beschreiben:

Elegantes Design und Schriftart

Die Ästhetik von Twenty Twenty-Four hebt sich deutlich von den vorherigen WordPress Themes ab. Unter anderem fällt direkt die elegante Schriftart „Cardo“, die für Überschriften verwendet wird, auf. Für den Fließtext kommt eine serifenlose Systemschrift zum Einsatz, die die Lesbarkeit fördert. Diese bewusste Wahl der Schriftarten verleiht deiner Website einen professionellen und ansprechenden Touch.

Helle und dunkle Farbpaletten

Das Standard-Theme von Twenty Twenty-Four präsentiert eine helle und moderne Farbpalette, die deine Website freundlich und einladend erscheinen lässt. Zusätzlich gibt es eine dunkle Stilvariante, die dieselbe elegante Typografie beibehält. Um noch mehr Flexibilität zu bieten, stehen zwei weitere serifenlose Varianten zur Verfügung: eine im hellen Modus und eine im dunklen Modus.

Block-Theme mit erweiterten Design-Tools

Twenty Twenty-Four ist ein Block-Theme, das vollständig mit den Werkzeugen des Website-Editors kombinierbar ist. Es unterstützt nicht nur die Standard-Block-Elemente, sondern bringt auch neue Design-Tools wie den Detail-Block und vertikalen Text mit. Damit kannst du zukünftig Inhalte noch flexibler und kreativer gestalten.

Vorgefertigte Seitenmuster und Template-Variationen

Du erstellst aktuell jede neue Unterseite von Grund auf? Diesem Vorgehen möchte das Twenty Twenty Four Theme ein Ende setzen, indem es ganze Seitenmuster und Template-Variationen anbietet. Mit vordefinierten Layouts und Stiloptionen wird der Prozess der Website-Erstellung erheblich vereinfacht. Dies spart Zeit und Aufwand bei der Website-Erstellung.

Flexibilität und Anpassbarkeit

Eine der bemerkenswertesten Eigenschaften von Twenty Twenty-Four ist seine Flexibilität. Mit nur wenigen Anpassungen an Farben und Typografie können Benutzer eine breite Palette von Website-Designs erstellen, die ihren Anforderungen entsprechen.

Insgesamt bietet das Twenty Twenty-Four-Theme eine aufregende Mischung aus modernem Design, Anpassbarkeit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Mit den zahlreichen Anpassungsoptionen und vorgefertigten Layouts ist es einfacher denn je, professionelle Websites zu erstellen.

Neue Funktionen von WordPress 6.4

WordPress 6.4 steht in den Startlöchern und bringt einige aufregende neue Funktionen, Verbesserungen und Überarbeitungen mit sich. Manche Funktionen wurden sich schon länger gewünscht – nun ist der Launch endlich da! Wir zeigen euch welche neuen und verbesserten Funktionen dich in WordPress 6.4 erwarten.

Schriftarten-Bibliothek

Eine der großen Neuerungen in WordPress 6.4 ist die Einführung einer Schriftarten-Bibliothek. Mit dieser praktischen Funktion kannst du Schriftarten für deine gesamte Website installieren und eine Vorschau verschiedener Schriftarten anzeigen. Die Schriftartenbibliothek wird global verfügbar sein, unabhängig vom aktiven Theme. Die Anwendung ist ähnlich der bereits vorhandenen WordPress Medienbibliothek – also übersichtlich und intuitiv.

Lightbox Funktion

Zukünftig soll bei Bildblöcken auch die Lightbox zur Verfügung stehen, damit deine Bilder mit einem Klick in großer Ansicht dargestellt werden.

Beitragsformate in Block-Themes

WordPress 6.4 bringt weitere Verbesserungen, um die Verwendung von Beitragsformaten in Block-Themes zu erleichtern. Dies beinhaltet die Möglichkeit, Beiträge ohne Titel in Schleifen und Vorlagen zu verwenden, die Schaffung von Vorlagen für Beitragsreihen und die Überarbeitung der spezifischen Formatierung des Content Blocks in der Schleife. Diese Verbesserungen ermöglichen es Benutzern, ihre Beiträge noch flexibler zu gestalten.

Neue Blöcke

Der Launch von drei neuen Blöcken ist geplant!

  1. Inhaltsverzeichnis: Dieser Block erleichtert die Erstellung von strukturierten Inhalten und bietet den Benutzern eine übersichtliche Möglichkeit, Inhaltsverzeichnisse zu erstellen.
  2. Zeit zum Lesen: Dieser Block ermöglicht es den Autoren, die geschätzte Lesezeit eines Artikels anzuzeigen, was den Lesern eine bessere Vorstellung davon gibt, wie viel Zeit sie für die Lektüre benötigen.
  3. Block Scrolling Marquee: Dieser Block ermöglicht das Hinzufügen von horizontalen, sich bewegenden Texten, um Aufmerksamkeit zu erregen und wichtige Informationen hervorzuheben.

Insgesamt verspricht WordPress 6.4, die Benutzererfahrung weiter zu verbessern und neue kreative Möglichkeiten für Website-Betreiber und Entwickler zu eröffnen. Mit den neuen Funktionen und Verbesserungen kannst du deine Website noch ansprechender und benutzerfreundlicher gestalten.

Verbesserung bestehender Funktionen

WordPress wird als Ganzes kontinuierlich weiter verbessert – und damit auch bestehende Funktionen! Das neue WordPress 6.4 Update optimiert bestehende Funktionen, damit das Arbeiten in WordPress noch einfach und intuitiver wird.

Schnittstellen und Tools

Bereits vorhandene Tools werden kontinuierlich verbessert, um die Erstellung von Webseiten und das Verfassen von Beiträgen zu erleichtern. In diesem Zusammenhang stehen Iterationen der Listenansicht mit benutzerdefinierter Benennung von Gruppenblöcken, die Medienvorschau für Galerie- und Bildblöcke sowie Tastaturkürzel für das Duplizieren von Blöcken im Vordergrund.

Seitenbearbeitung

Die Bearbeitung des Navigationsblocks und der globalen Stile soll noch besser werden. Zur Verbesserung der allgemeinen Websitennutzung werden unter anderem Maßnahmen wie das Hinzufügen der „Vorlage anzeigen“-Funktion bei der Seitenbearbeitung, das Einfügen von Diskussionseinstellungen, die Anzeige aktueller Änderungen im Bereich „Stile durchsuchen“, das Entkoppeln von Vorlagen und Vorlagenteilen beim Wechsel des Themes und das Ausblenden von Seiten- oder Beitragstiteln bei der Websitebearbeitung ergriffen.

Fußnoten

Der erst im letzten Major Release eingeführte Footnote Block wird mit 6.4 weiter verbessert. Unter anderem soll man das gesamte Design (Hintergrund, Schriftart und -größe, Textfarben, uvm.) einfacher anpassen sowie Links besser einfügen können.

Design-Tools

Dank diesen Verbesserungen und Zusatzfunktionen solltest du zukünftig noch komplexere Designs realisieren können:

  • Box Shadow (neu)
  • Konfiguration eigener Viewport-Breiten für Theme Entwickler (neu)
  • Vereinfachung und Erweiterung der Layout-Kontrollen
  • Verbesserung des benutzerdefinierten CSS

Globale Stile

Globale Stile sind eine mächtige Einstellung, die dir viel Arbeit bei zukünftigen Anpassungen oder auch einem vollständigen Re-Design abnehmen können. WordPress 6.4 bringt Änderungen bei Stilüberarbeitungen, Stilbuch-Anpassungen mit Funktionen wie „Zurücksetzen auf Standard“ und Seitenvergleich sowie Änderungen an der Darstellungs-Hierarchie.

Muster

Um Muster noch benutzerfreundlicher zu gestalten, wurden neue Funktionen ergänzt:

  • Ergänzen von Kategorien
  • Verbesserung des „Einfügen“-Vorgangs
  • Verbesserung der Kompatibilität für Nicht-Block-Themes.

Verwaltung und Navigation

Jedes Updates bringt eine besseres Usability mit sich – deswegen wird auch die Verwaltung und Navigation immer weiter verbessert. Dieses Mal freuen wir uns über folgende Verbesserungen:

  • Hinzufügung einer Menüübersicht
  • Erstellung benutzerdefinierter Symbole
  • mobile Links für verschiedene Geräte
  • Verbesserung des Fallbacks

Performance

Als WordPress Host ist uns Performance von Websites enorm wichtig! Und auch das Entwickler Team von WordPress konzentriert sich auf die kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Performance von WordPress:

  • Nutzung der neuen Skript-Ladestrategie-APIs in Core, die
  • Identifizierung und Behebung von Serverleistungsengpässen, die
  • Verbesserung der Zuverlässigkeit und Flexibilität bei der Anwendung der Ladeoptimierungsattribute „loading“, „fetchpriority“ und „decoding“ sowie die
  • Erweiterung der Möglichkeiten automatisierter Leistungstest-Workflows und des Dashboards.

Diese Einblicke bieten nur einen kleinen Überblick über die umfangreichen Verbesserungen und Überarbeitungen in WordPress 6.4. Um weitere Details zu erfahren, kannst du dich auf der WordPress-Website über die neuesten Aktualisierungen informieren.

Gutenberg Block Editor – Die Collaboration-Phase in WordPress (Phase 3)

Es ist Zeit für den nächsten großen Schritt im Gutenberg Block Editor: Mit dem nächsten WordPress-Update beginnt die Collaboration-Phase (Phase 3), die die Zusammenarbeit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit weiter verbessern wird.

Gutenberg hat sich seit seiner Einführung in WordPress 5.0 extrem weiter entwickelt. Die Handhabung von Erstellung und Verwaltung wurde verbessert, neue Blöcke wurden eingeführt und die allgemeine Flexibilität verbessert. Aus den Babyschuhen gewachsen, lassen sich mittlerweile komplexe Designs in einer benutzerfreundlichen Umgebung erstellen. Daher wird die Einführungsphase als offiziell abgeschlossen anerkannt.

Mit Abschluss der Einführungsphase, beginnt Phase 3. In Phase 3 geht es vor allem um die Zusammenarbeit in WordPress. Das Hauptziel besteht darin, die Benutzerfreundlichkeit weiter zu steigern und die nahtlose Zusammenarbeit zwischen verschiedenen Benutzern zu fördern. Das wird vor allem durch die Möglichkeit des gleichzeitigen Arbeitens am selben Inhalt von mehreren Nutzern sowie durch native Kommentar-, Überprüfungs- und Freigabe-Funktionen in WordPress möglich.

Fazit

Wir freuen uns sehr auf das anstehende Update und die damit verbundenen Neuerungen. Vor allem die Möglichkeit nativ in WordPress zusammen zu arbeiten, überzeugt mich sehr! Für WordPress User wird Teamarbeit dadurch nachhaltig einfacher, besser und schneller.

Wenn du dich bei WordPress selbst über die Änderungen in WordPress 6.4 und zukünftigen Updates informieren möchtest, kannst du das direkt hier.

Bild von Isabell Bergmann
Isabell Bergmann
Als Online Marketing Managerin bei WPspace teile ich gerne mein Wissen rund um Online Marketing, Webdesign und Hosting.

Bei Links, die mit einem * markiert sind, handelt es sich um Affiliate Links. Wenn du ein Produkt über diesen Link kaufst, bekommt WPspace eine kleine Provision. Dir entstehen dadurch keine zusätzlichen Kosten oder Nachteile! Das hat keinerlei Einfluss auf unsere Meinung zu einzelnen Produkten und Dienstleistungen – wir empfehlen euch nur, was wir auch selbst lieben.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert