Table of contents

Set Divi Builder correctly

Divi Builder: Now set up the Divi Customizer correctly in 3 steps

The most important settings before you start working in Divi Builder!

With over 800,000 installations, 200 layout packs, 70,000 Facebook members, countless extensions and 50 local groups, the Divi theme from Elegant Themes is one of the most used WordPress themes worldwide. The Divi Builder not only comes with a huge wealth of great designs, but also has a diverse number of different features that can be added to a website. That's why it's so popular!

Divi installations and figures

Set up Divi Theme

If you plan to use your WordPress website with the Divi theme in the future, it is important to set up your site properly in advance. And not only within the Divi Builder, but also in the WordPress Customizer, which many people forget. A proper setup in advance will save you a lot of work later when creating your content. Sounds logical. It is. How to install Divi and thus the Divi Builder can be read here.

Within the WordPress Customizer, there are numerous setting options that can fundamentally change the appearance of your website. Therefore, it always makes sense to think in advance about how your website (such as colour palette, fonts, navigation, footer, website layout, etc.) should look later. Write everything down and only get to work when you are ready. Good planning is half the battle.

My tip: Take the time now to save time later!

So here we go - First steps in the Customizer

There are two ways to access the Customizer (Divi Builder should already be installed and activated). Either via the Design - Customizer tab or directly via Divi - Theme Customizer. Both ways lead to the goal. When you click on it, you will find a menu bar with different settings on the left-hand side. You can also see which theme is currently active. The Divi theme (or the corresponding child theme if you are already using it).

Divi Builder: Settings

The general settings for your Divi page

We start with the general settings. Clicking on the menu item "General settings" opens a submenu with the various settings for setting up your website. Of particular interest to us are the tabs "Layout settings" and "Typography" in Divi Builder.

Divi Builder: General settings

Layout settings

In the first step you can decide whether you want to use a box layout or whether you prefer to use the standard layout of a website. The box layout gives the website a left and right margin. It is also often used for pure blogs.

Divi Builder: Layout

Then set the width of the content of your website under "Content width of website". The default value of 1080 px has proven itself in practice, so it makes sense to leave the default value here.

The next setting called "Website column spacing" is, in my opinion, translated somewhat incomprehensibly in Divi Builder. This is the margin between the columns within a row. So, for example, if you create a module with three columns within your website, this item controls the spacing between the columns. The Divi Builder defines the whole thing in numbers from 1 to 4, which result in percentages of the following values.

1 stands for zero space between the columns.
2 stands for a right margin of 3% between the columns.
3 stands for a right margin of 5.5% between the columns.
4 stands for a right margin of 8% between the columns.

Divi Builder: Interface

If you want to use a sidebar for your website, you can define the width of the sidebar in the Divi Builder via the item "Use custom width for sidebar" here.

Under the items "Section height" and "Line height", the upper and lower spacing can be defined for each section or line. A little tip: A higher spacing gives a website more "space", which has a positive effect on readability. And now for the last point, accent colour: This controls the colour for various elements on your page (such as the hamburger menu, background colour for the secondary menu bar, active link... etc.).

Don't worry, you can adjust the colour in the Divi Builder in a more refined way in the settings for the respective elements. The good thing about this is that you are not fixed here. As a tip, I would definitely choose your accent colour from your colour palette. This way it will be displayed as soon as you call up a new element and not the standard WordPress colour.

Typography

Under Typography you can define the default settings of the Divi Builder for fonts. This is very practical, because once defined, your pre-set fonts/line heights/font sizes etc. are displayed for each new module. In my opinion, this is one of the most important settings in the Divi Builder.

Divi Builder: Typography

There are two selection fields for typography here that are most helpful for the later structure of your website - namely Font Header and Main Font. Under the term "Header font" you can set the font for headings and under the keyword "Main font" you set the font for the body text. You also have the option of directly adjusting the font size and line height in the body.

Divi Builder: Font

As far as the colours are concerned, you can adjust the colours for the font in the body and for links here. As far as the link colour is concerned, it is identical to the accent colour, which you can set under "Layout settings", unless you change it here.

Wow, that was a lot. But most of it is done. Because we've already made some settings for the Divi Builder and your new website with it. Now it's time for the finishing touches.

Header & Navigation Setup

Divi Builder: Header

Header format

We will now jump to the sub-item "Header format" in the Divi Builder. Here you can easily create your desired menu from various options. A small hint: If you decide on a centred menu, your logo will also be displayed centred, otherwise left-aligned. You can also decide here whether you would rather have the menu in the header or vertically integrated into the sidebar.

Divi Builder: Header format

Primary menu bar

Don't be surprised! Under this point in the Divi Builder, one could now assume that the primary menu bar controls the appearance of the top bar. This is not the case! The top bar (here the menu with the magenta background) is called the "secondary menu bar". A little confusing, isn't it? Back to the "Primary menu bar" tab - here you can make a variety of settings.

Divi Builder: secondary menu bar

However, I would like to focus on the following point: "Logo Max Height". Here I am often asked what size the logo should best have so that it integrates well into the menu.

The following applies to the desktop version: For a logo in landscape format, a minimum height of 45 - 55 px and a minimum width of 250 px have become established. A logo format of 90 x 500 px is optimal. The PNG format, which can also be used to display transparent logos, is the most suitable image format. In addition to the menu height, the font size in the menu also plays an important role in how your logo is displayed. You can play around with the values in Divi Builder until you find the ideal display.

Since the display of square or portrait format logos in standard menus is not always optimal, it is advisable to have a variant in landscape format in addition to your main logo. If you do not have one, you can alternatively solve this problem by displaying your menu bar in a different way, e.g. a centred menu. Another alternative is to remove the logo from the menu and centre it on the page. There are many possibilities here in the Divi Builder.

The following applies to the mobile view: less is more. Logos with a lot of text or elaborate elements that would appear illegible when scaled down can also be displayed for mobile devices. The trick: Many designers resort to scaled-down logos that only include part of the logo text, e.g. in the form of initials, or contain fewer image elements.

The top menu or secondary menu bar

As mentioned earlier, the secondary menu bar is the bar that sits above the primary menu bar or main menu. It is often used to display contact details or social media buttons. The settings are similar to those of the primary menu bar and are self-explanatory even for beginners.

Divi Builder: secondary menu site settings

Settings for fixed navigation

And again, it is not really obvious what exactly is meant by this. To clarify, these are settings for the primary menu. The settings take effect when you want your menu bar to be displayed fixed in the upper area. By default, when you scroll, the items in the menu become slightly smaller. If you do not want this, select the same settings for the elements as in the "Primary menu bar" area.

Divi Builder: Fixed Navigation

Header elements

Here you can activate those elements that you would like to have displayed in your secondary menu bar, such as social media icons. The link to the social media icons can be set in Divi under Divi - Theme Options - General.

Divi Builder: Header elements

If you want to know where the search appears. It is displayed in the primary menu bar.

Buttons, Buttons, Buttons

To avoid having to start from scratch every time you create a new button, it makes sense to define the button style in advance in the Customizer. You can find the settings for buttons under Design - Customizer - Buttons (Button).

Divi Builder: Buttons

Here you will find two subcategories, the general settings for buttons "Style of the button" and the settings for the hover mode "Style of the button". The hover mode means nothing other than that you hover over a certain element on a web page, in this case a button, and the appearance of the element changes, e.g. by changing the button colour. This is the hover effect.

The hover effect makes your website more interesting for users. You can also customise a whole range of settings for your button, especially background colour, border, font, icon, ...etc.

What cannot be set here are gradients for button backgrounds and you can only define one button style here. If you want to use two button styles (e.g. one button for dark backgrounds and one for light backgrounds) or add gradients, I recommend that you set this up directly in Divi Builder and save this button(s) as global element(s) in the library. This way you always have the possibility to fall back on it when needed.

So that's it for this tutorial on the most important settings in the Customizer.

A few final words about working with Divi

As you can see, it's not difficult to set up your new Divi website in advance in the Customizer using the Divi Builder. With a little practice and good planning, the adjustments can even be made in a relatively short time.

And it is already worthwhile if you want some elements of your website to be predefined and you only need to fill them with your content (such as call-to-action buttons or body text). Even if it may seem a bit cumbersome to make detailed adjustments at one point or another, we can report from our own experience that the time spent will be more than worth it. Afterwards, you can relax and dedicate yourself to your website. So it's best to just try it out!

We hope you enjoyed the tutorial and that it will help you to set up your website. If you have any further questions or comments, we would be very happy to hear from you. Tell us how you got on with your new Divi website, show us your new website or anything else you can think of about WordPress.
We'd love to hear from you.

About the author(s):

Share article:

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Reddit
XING

About the guest author

Meriem Benois

What has developed over the years from curiosity and passion, Meriem Benois has made her profession. Since 2021, she has been a web designer with heart and soul, founder and head of the agency Raster & Pixel, which specialises in WordPress sites for coaches, trainers, consultants and service providers. She not only creates websites with the popular Divi theme but also offers support for Divi for her clients.

Similar articles

One answer

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Divi Builder richtig einstellen

Divi Builder: Jetzt in 3 Schritten den Divi Customizer richtig einstellen

Die wichtigsten Einstellungen bevor du dich an die Arbeit im Divi Builder machst!

Mit über 800.000 Installationen, 200 Layout Packs, 70.000 Facebook Mitgliedern, unzähligen Erweiterungen und 50 lokalen Gruppen gehört das Divi – Theme von Elegant Themes zu den meistgenutzten WordPress Themes weltweit. Der Divi Builder kommt nicht nur mit einer riesigen Fülle an großartigen Designs daher, sondern besitzt auch eine vielfältige Anzahl an verschiedensten Funktionen, mit denen eine Website ausgestattet werden kann. Daher ist es so beliebt!

Divi Installationen und Zahlen

Divi Theme einrichten

Wenn du planst, deine WordPress Website zukünftig mit dem Divi Theme zu nutzen, dann ist es wichtig, deine Seite vorab sauber einzurichten. Und zwar nicht nur innerhalb des Divi Builders, sondern was viele vergessen, ebenso im WordPress Customizer. Eine ordentliche Einrichtung vorab erspart dir nämlich später bei der Erstellung deiner Inhalte einen Haufen Arbeit. Klingt logisch. Ist es auch. Wie du Divi und somit den Divi Builder installierst, kannst du hier nachlesen.

Innerhalb des WordPress Customizers verbergen sich zahlreiche Einstellungsmöglichkeiten, die das Aussehen deiner Website grundlegend verändern können. Daher ist es immer sinnvoll, sich vorab zu überlegen, wie deine Website (wie z.B. Farbpalette, Schriften, Navigation, Fußzeile, Layout der Website, etc.) später aussehen soll. Schreib alles auf und mach dich erst dann an die Arbeit, wenn du soweit bist. Eine gute Planung ist die halbe Miete.

Mein Tipp: Nimm dir jetzt die Zeit, damit du später Zeit sparst!

Also los geht`s – Erste Schritte im Customizer

Um zum Customizer zu gelangen (Divi Builder sollte bereits installiert und aktiviert sein), gibt es zwei Wege. Entweder über den Reiter Design – Customizer oder direkt über Divi – Theme Customizer. Beide Wege führen zum Ziel. Bei einem Klick darauf findest du auf der linken Seite eine Menüleiste mit unterschiedlichen Einstellungen. Ebenso siehst du auch, welches Theme gerade aktiv ist. Das Divi Theme (oder auch das entsprechende Child Theme, falls du dieses schon verwendest).

Divi Builder: Einstellungen

Die allgemeinen Einstellungen für deine Divi-Seite

Wir beginnen mit den allgemeinen Einstellungen. Bei einem Klick auf den Menüpunkt „Allgemeine Einstellungen“ öffnet sich ein Untermenü mit den unterschiedlichen Einstellungen, um deine Website grundlegend einzurichten. Für uns interessant, sind vor allem die Reiter „Layout-Einstellungen“ und „Typografie“ im Divi Builder.

Divi Builder: Allgemeine Einstellungen

Layout-Einstellungen

Im ersten Schritt kannst du dich entscheiden, ob du ein Boxlayout verwenden möchtest oder lieber auf das Standardlayout einer Website zurückgreifen möchtest. Das Boxlayout gibt der Website einen linken und rechten Rand. Und wird auch gerne für reine Blogs verwendet.

Divi Builder: Layout

Danach stellst du unter „Inhaltsbreite der Website“ die Breite des Inhalts deiner Website ein. Der Standardwert von 1080 px hat sich in der Praxis bewährt, daher ist es sinnvoll hier den vorgegebenen Wert so belassen.

Die nächste Einstellung mit dem Namen „Spaltenabstände der Website“ ist meiner Meinung nach etwas unverständlich im Divi Builder übersetzt. Es handelt sich hierbei um den Rand zwischen den Spalten innerhalb einer Zeile. Also wenn du zum Beispiel innerhalb deiner Website ein Modul mit drei Spalten erstellst, steuert dieser Punkt den Abstand zwischen den Spalten an. Dabei definiert der Divi Builder das Ganze in Zahlen von 1 bis 4, die in Prozentzahlen folgende Werte ergeben.

1 steht für null Abstand zwischen den Spalten.
2 steht für einen rechten Rand von 3% zwischen den Spalten.
3 steht für einen rechten Rand von 5,5% zwischen den Spalten.
4 steht für einen rechten Rand von 8 % zwischen den Spalten.

Divi Builder: Oberfläche

Solltest du eine Seitenleiste für deine Website verwenden wollen, so kannst du über den Punkt „Verwenden Sie benutzerdefinierte Breite für Sidebar“ hier die Breite der Seitenleiste im Divi Builder definieren.

Unter den Punkten „Sektionshöhe“ und „Zeilenhöhe“ lässt sich der obere und untere Abstand für jede Sektion bzw. Zeile definieren. Ein kleiner Tipp: Ein höherer Abstand gibt einer Website mehr „Raum“, was sich positiv auf die Lesbarkeit auswirkt. Und nun zum letzten Punkt Akzentfarbe: Hiermit wird die Farbe für verschiedenste Elemente auf deiner Seite (wie z.B. das Hamburger Menü, Hintergrundfarbe für die sekundäre Menüleiste, aktiver Link… etc.) gesteuert.

Keine Sorge, die Farbe kannst du in den Einstellungen für die jeweiligen Elemente nochmal verfeinerter im Divi Builder anpassen. Das Gute daran ist, dass du hier nicht festgelegt bist. Als Tipp würde ich hier auf jeden Fall deine Akzentfarbe aus deiner Farbpalette wählen. Damit wird diese angezeigt, sobald du ein neues Element aufrufst und nicht die Standard-WordPress Farbe.

Typografie

Unter dem Punkt Typografie kannst du die Standardeinstellungen vom Divi Builder für Schriften definieren. Sehr praktisch, denn einmal definiert, werden bei jedem neuen Modul deine vorab eingestellten Schriften/Zeilenhöhen/Schriftgrößen etc. angezeigt. Aus meiner Sicht ist dies mit die wichtigste Einstellung im Divi Builder.

Divi Builder: Typografie

Es gibt hier zwei Auswahlfelder zur Typografie, die am hilfreichsten für den späteren Aufbau deiner Website sind – nämlich Schriftart Kopfzeile und Haupt-Schriftart. Unter dem Begriff „Schriftart Kopfzeile“ lässt sich die Schrift für Überschriften einstellen und unter dem Stichwort „Haupt-Schriftart“ richtest du die Schrift für den Fließtext (Body) ein. Auch hast du direkt die Möglichkeit die Schriftgröße und die Zeilenhöhe im Body anzupassen.

Divi Builder: Schriftart

Was die Farben angehen, kannst du hier die Farben für die Schrift im Body und für Links anpassen. Zur Linkfarbe lässt sich sagen, dass diese mit der Akzentfarbe, die du unter dem Punkt „Layout-Einstellungen“ einstellen kannst, identisch ist, sofern du sie an dieser Stelle nicht änderst.

Wow, das war ganz schön viel. Aber das meiste ist geschafft. Denn wir haben schon einiges an Einstellungen für den Divi Builder und deine neue Website damit vorgenommen. Nun geht es an die Feinarbeit.

Header & Navigation einrichten

Divi Builder: Header

Headerformat

Wir springen jetzt gleich zum Unterpunkt „Headerformat“ im Divi Builder. Hier kannst du bequem aus verschiedenen Optionen dein Wunschmenü erstellen. Ein kleiner Hinweis noch: Solltest du dich für ein zentriertes Menü entscheiden, so wird dein Logo auch zentriert dargestellt, ansonsten linksbündig. Auch kannst du dich hier entscheiden, ob du lieber das Menü im Kopfbereich haben möchtest oder vertikal in die Seitenleiste integriert.

Divi Builder: Headerformat

Primäre Menüleiste

Nicht wundern! Unter diesem Punkt könnte man im Divi Builder jetzt annehmen, dass die primäre Menüleiste, das Aussehen der obersten Leiste steuert. Das ist nicht so! Die oberste Leiste (hier das Menü mit dem magentafarbenen Hintergrund) nennt sich „Sekundäre Menüleiste“. Ein wenig verwirrend, oder? Zurück zum Reiter „Primäre Menüleiste“ – hier kannst du eine Vielzahl an Einstellungen vornehmen.

Divi Builder: sekundäre Menüleiste

Hauptaugenmerk möchte ich aber auf den folgenden Punkt legen: „Logo Max Höhe“. Hier werde ich oft gefragt, welche Größe das Logo am besten haben sollte, damit es sich gut in das Menü integriert.

Für die Desktopversion gilt: Für ein Logo im Querformat hat sich eine minimale Höhe von 45 – 55 px und eine minimale Breite von 250 px etabliert. Optimal ist ein Logoformat von 90 x 500 px. Als Bildformat eignet sich das PNG Format, mit dem sich auch transparente Logos abbilden lassen, am besten. Neben der Menühöhe spielt auch die Schriftgröße im Menü eine bedeutende Rolle, wie dein Logo dargestellt wird. Hier kannst du ein wenig an den Werten im Divi Builder herumspielen, bis du die ideale Darstellung gefunden hast.

Da die Anzeige von quadratischen oder hochformatigen Logos in Standardmenüs nicht immer optimal ist, ist es ratsam, wenn du neben deinem Hauptlogo noch eine Variante im Querformat besitzt. Ist keine vorhanden, so lässt sich alternativ über eine andere Darstellung deiner Menüleiste z.B. ein zentriertes Menü, dieses Problem lösen. Ebenso als Alternative kann das Logo aus dem Menü herausgenommen und zentriert auf der Seite dargestellt werden. Es gibt hier vielfältige Möglichkeiten im Divi Builder.

Für die mobile Ansicht gilt: Weniger ist mehr. Logos mit viel Textanteil oder aufwendigen Elementen, die verkleinert unleserlich erscheinen würden, lassen sich auch für Mobilgeräte darstellen. Der Trick: Viele Designer greifen auf verkleinerte Logos, die nur einen Teil des Logotextes, z.B. in Form von Initialen, umfassen oder weniger Bildelemente enthalten, zurück.

Das oberste Menü oder die sekundäre Menüleiste

Wie vorher schon erwähnt, ist die sekundäre Menüleiste, die Leiste, die sich oberhalb der primären Menüleiste oder des Hauptmenüs befindet. Sie wird gerne dazu genutzt, um Kontaktangaben oder Social Media Buttons anzuzeigen. Die Einstellungen ähneln den Einstellungen der primären Menüleiste und sind auch für Anfänger selbsterklärend.

Divi Builder: sekundäre Menülesite Einstellungen

Einstellungen für fixe Navigation

Und schon wieder ist es nicht wirklich ersichtlich, was genau damit gemeint ist. Zur Aufklärung, es handelt sich hierbei um Einstellungen für das primäre Menü. Die Einstellungen greifen dann, wenn du möchtest, dass deine Menüzeile im oberen Bereich fixiert angezeigt werden soll. Standard ist, dass beim Scrollen die Elemente im Menü etwas kleiner werden. Wenn du dies nicht möchtest, dann wähle hier die gleichen Einstellungen der Elemente wie im Bereich „Primäre Menüleiste“.

Divi Builder: Fixe Navigation

Headerelemente

Hier kannst du diejenigen Elemente aktivieren, die du gerne in deiner sekundären Menüleiste angezeigt haben möchtest, wie z.B. Social Media Icons. Die Verlinkung zu den Social Media Icons lässt sich im Divi unter Divi – Theme Optionen – Allgemein einstellen.

Divi Builder: Headerelemente

Wenn du wissen möchtest, wo die Suche erscheint. Diese wird in der primären Menüleiste angezeigt.

Buttons, Buttons, Buttons

Damit du nicht immer von vorne anfangen musst, wenn du einen neuen Button erstellst, macht es Sinn, den Buttonstil vorab im Customizer zu definieren. Du findest die Einstellungen für Buttons unter Design – Customizer – Buttons (Schaltfläche).

Divi Builder: Buttons

Hier findest du zwei Unterkategorien, die allgemeinen Einstellungen für Buttons „Style des Buttons (Schaltfläche)“ und die Einstellungen für den Hover Modus „Style des Buttons (Schaltfläche) beim Hover“. Dabei besagt der Hover Modus nichts anderes, als dass du über ein bestimmtes Element auf einer Webseite, hier Button, fährst, und sich dabei das Aussehen des Elements verändert, z. B. durch eine Änderung der Buttonfarbe. Das ist der Hover-Effekt.

Der Hover-Effekt macht deine Webseite für Nutzer interessanter. Außerdem lassen sich eine ganze Menge an Einstellungen für deinen Button anpassen, insbesondere Hintergrundfarbe, Umrandung, Schrift, Icon, …etc.

Was sich hierüber nicht einstellen lässt, sind Verläufe für Buttonhintergründe und du kannst hier auch nur einen einzigen Buttonstil definieren. Möchtest du vielleicht zwei Buttonstile nutzen (z.B. einen Button für dunkle Hintergründe und einen für helle Hintergründe), oder Verläufe hinzufügen, so empfehle ich dir dies in Divi Builder direkt einzurichten und diese(n) Button als globale(s) Element(e) in der Bibliothek zu speichern.  So hast du die Möglichkeit bei Bedarf immer darauf zurückgreifen zu können.

So das war es nun mit diesem Tutorial zu den wichtigsten Einstellungen im Customizer.

Ein paar abschließende Worte zur Arbeit mit Divi

Wie du siehst, ist es nicht schwer, im Vorfeld deine neue Divi Website im Customizer mithilfe des Divi Builders einzurichten. Mit ein bisschen Übung und guter Vorplanung lassen sich die Anpassungen sogar in relativ kurzer Zeit  durchführen.

Und es lohnt sich bereits dann, wenn du möchtest, dass einige Elemente deiner Website vordefiniert sind und du diese nur noch mit deinen Inhalten füllen brauchst (wie z.B. Call-to-Action Buttons oder Fließtext). Auch wenn es an der einen oder anderen Stelle etwas umständlich erscheinen mag, detaillierte Anpassungen vorzunehmen, so lässt sich aus eigener Erfahrung berichten, dass sich der Zeitaufwand mehr als lohnen wird. Denn danach kannst du dich ganz entspannt deiner Website widmen. Also am besten, probiere es einfach aus!

Hoffentlich hat dir das Tutorial Spaß gemacht und hilft dir bei der Einrichtung deiner Website weiter. Solltest du weitere Fragen oder Anmerkungen haben, so würden wir uns sehr über eine Mitteilung von dir freuen. Schreib uns, wie es dir mit deiner neuen Divi Website ergangen ist, zeig uns deine neue Website oder was dir zum Thema WordPress sonst noch so einfällt.
Wir freuen uns darüber.

Über den/die Autor/in:

Artikel teilen:

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Reddit
XING

Über den/die Gastautor/in

Meriem Benois

Was sich über die Jahre aus Neugier und Leidenschaft entwickelt hat, hat Meriem Benois zu ihrem Beruf gemacht. Seit 2021 ist sie Webdesignerin mit Herz & Seele, Gründerin und Leiterin der Agentur Raster & Pixel, die sich auf WordPress-Seiten für Coaches, Trainer, Berater und Dienstleister spezialisiert hat. Dabei erstellt sie nicht nur Websites mit dem beliebten Divi Theme sondern bietet ebenso Support für Divi für ihre Kunden.

Ähnliche Artikel

Eine Antwort

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.